We've Got The County Covered


The 2023 Montana Book Award winner is The Lost Journals of Sacajewea by Debra Magpie Earling. In The Lost Journals of Sacajewea, Author Debra Magpie Earling challenges prevailing historical narratives of Sacajewea. She brings to life a mythologized figure, while casting an unsparing light on the men who brutalized her and re-centering Sacajewea as the arbiter of her own history. Written in lyrical, dreamlike prose, The Lost Journals of Sacajewea is an astonishing work of art and a powerful tale of perseverance—the Indigenous woman’s story that hasn’t been told.

Four honor books were also chose...